DWI Charges: Don’t Let A Lapse In Judgement Derail Your Future
When you’ve been charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI), you need a lawyer with extensive DWI defense experience. You’ll find that when you reach out to Winnie A. Bates, Attorney at Law. Attorney Bates will go over the facts of your case and explain your options for contesting or otherwise resolving the charges.
How Serious Is A DWI Charge?
In Texas, three DWI offenses can lead to a felony conviction. That conviction could result in:
- A driver’s license suspension
- A yearly surcharge on your license
- Major fines
- Jail time
When you work with attorney Bates, she’ll do her best to minimize the charges and consequences you face. But it is important not to delay seeking help. The sooner you contact an attorney, the more legal options you may have.
The Breakdown Of DWI Penalties In Texas
Texas has some of the harshest DWI penalties in the country. What specifically might you be facing with a DWI charge? It depends on the type of charge. Here are the possibilities.
First-Time DWI Offense
For a first-time offense, you may be looking at:
- Jail time for up to 180 days, with a requirement to serve at least three days in prison
- Fines totaling up to $2,000
- Suspension of your driver’s license for up to a year
If you get probation, you will likely have to comply with numerous requirements, such as drug testing, community service, DWI education and even travel restrictions. Attorney Bates can help you navigate the charges in an effort to reduce or avoid these penalties.
Second DWI Offense
If you’ve had a prior conviction, a second offense can result in:
- Jail time ranges from one month to a year, with a requirement to serve at least three days in prison
- Fines totaling up to $4,000
- Suspension of your driver’s license for up to two years
As with a first-time offense, probation for a second offense often imposes strict requirements in addition to these penalties.
Third DWI Offense
A third offense in Texas is a felony. That means you will be facing:
- Jail time ranges from two to 10 years, with a requirement to serve at least 10 days
- Fines totaling $10,000 or more
- Suspension of your driver’s license for two years
As with other felonies, a felony DWI conviction can jeopardize your gun rights, voting rights, reputation, job prospects, housing prospects and other opportunities in life. It’s even more important to enlist a proven attorney like Winnie Bates to protect you from these harsh potential consequences.
Discuss Your Charges And Your Defense Options With A Knowledgeable Attorney
Located in Round Rock, Winnie A. Bates, Attorney at Law, serves clients throughout the surrounding areas of Texas. For a clear and honest assessment of your case, contact the firm to request an initial consultation. You can reach out online or call 512-877-6255.